Response to NETS-T #3

  • Standards and Performance Indicators for Teachers (NETS-T #3)
  • Model Digital-Age Work and Learning

Teachers exhibit knowledge, skills, and work processes representative of an innovative professional in a global and digital society. Teachers:

a. demonstrate fluency in technology systems and the transfer of current knowledge to new technologies and situations

b. collaborate with students, peers, parents, and community members using digital tools and resources to support student success and innovation

c. communicate relevant information and ideas effectively to students, parents, and peers using a variety of digital-age media and formats

d. model and facilitate effective use of current and emerging digital tools to locate, analyze, evaluate, and use information resources to support research and learning

  • Technology is very important in our society today.  Therefore, teachers should be well educated and up to date on current technology.  This will allow the teacher to incorporate it into his/her classroom with the students.  Using a variety of technology and various forms of resources will also allow the teacher to work together and communicate effectively with students, parents, coworkers, and the community.  In doing so, students will be supported and set up for success.  Teachers also need to demonstrate and assist students in supporting research and learning with the use of technology and resources.          
  • I believe I have many strengths in this standard.  I collaborate well with my students, peers, parents, and community members on supporting his/her success.  I think that I communicate relevant information and ideas effectively to all, and I am a model and facilitator. 
  • However, my weakness would be in doing all of these things using technology.  I do incorporate it into my classroom, but not to the extent that I should be.  I must say in my defense though, that I teach at a private school that does not have money to invest in any technology.  Therefore, my digital resources and learning tools are extremely limited!  This has definitely hindered me and has not helped me grow as a teacher!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

